Board and Staff2024 Board Members

    Back Row (L to R):
  • Steve Barrows - Crow Wing County
  • Ted Van Kempen - Hubbard County
  • Craig Gaasvig - Beltrami County
  • Dean Newland - Clearwater County

  • Front Row: (L to R)
  • Tim Terrill - Executive Director
  • Bobby Kasper - Morrison County

  • Not Pictured:
  • Scott Bruns - Cass County
  • Michael Kearney - Aitkin County
  • Cory Smith - Itasca County


  • Tim Terrill, Executive Director

Technical Advisory Committee

  • Andrew Carlstrom – Aitkin County
  • Brent Rud - Beltrami County
  • Jeff Woodford – Cass County
  • Dan Hecht - Clearwater County


  • Jacob Frie – Crow Wing County
  • Eric Buitenwerf – Hubbard County
  • Dan Swenson – Itasca County
  • Amy Kowalzek – Morrison County

Executive Director, Tim Terrill

The Mississippi Headwaters Board is a consortium of eight counties: Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca and Morrison brought together as a local governing unit by Statute in 1981 (Minnesota Statutes 103F.361 – 103F.377) to establish guidelines and minimum standards for cooperative local management and protection of the first 400 miles of the Upper Mississippi Headwaters region.

With an Associates and Bachelor of Science degree in Liberal Arts and Biology (ecology) from Winona State University, as well as Watershed Management and Conservation Planner certification through the EPA and Natural Resources Conservation Services respectfully, this organization is convinced he will be a great asset.

Tim’s countless years of experience in the environmental field as a District Manager with Winona Soil & Water Conservation District as well as Project Coordinator with the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship will serve him well. During his fore mentioned tenure, Tim was awarded several accolades: ’08 National District Excellence Award for Policy and Grassroots Initiatives from the National Assoc. of Conservation Districts and the ’09 Minnesota Soil & Water Conservation Society Merit Award for his Districts contribution to the natural resource field.

Mr. Terrill will bring his knowledge of environmental regulatory practices and provide remediation assistance and foresight on various project development within the eight county corridor through grant acquisitioned and public awareness programs. His new role w/the MHB will also include full over-sight of the office administration and staff.

The Mississippi Headwaters Board is very pleased that Mr. Terrill will be joining them. He will bring new energy and direction to the board’s mission and should prove to be a valued addition to the team.